2012 Musical Theater Winners

Awards totaling $35,000 were awarded at the National Musical Theater Competition in El Paso, Texas on May 19, 2012.

First Place $10,000
National Society of Arts and Letters Award
Allan Kameron Washington
Virginia/North Carolina Chapter


Allan K. Washington


Allan K. Washington, right, performs the role of Tommy Djilas in the 2012 Glimmerglass production of “The Music Man.”

Second Place $8,000
Wilford I. Thunhurst, Jr. Memorial Award
Charnette Batey
Bloomington Chapter


Charnette Batey played the part of Lola in the 2012 Indiana Festival Theatre production of “Damn Yankees,” directed by NSAL member George Pinney.


Aisha Curtiss, Charnette Batey and Tunisia Renee in the Gallery Players production of “Dreamgirls.”
photo by Bella Muccar

 Charnette recieved her Bachelor of Fine Arts in Musical Theatre from Indiana Univeristy in May 2012. Shortly after graduation, she moved to New York where she is currently staring as Deena Jones in Dreamgirls at The Gallery Players in Brooklyn, New York.

Her credits at Indiana University Theatre include Hair (Dionne), Happily Ever Chloe (Sue), Oklahoma! (Pearl), Parentheses of Blood(Ramana) and The Wild Party (Cookie). For Indiana Festival Theatre: Damn Yankees (Lola) and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs (Prudence). Other: Little Shop of Horrors and Anniefor Cardinal Stage. Charnette won Best Actress in the title role of Afro Thunda for IU Campus Movie Festival.  She was also a 2009 NSAL Bloomington Chapter winner for musical theater.   Charnette is from New Albany, New York.

Third Place $5,000
Estelle Campbell Memorial Award
Jim Davidson Goza
Little Rock Chapter


Jim Goza

Notes and Updates from Jim (spring 2013):

I just became on of the new featured actors at The Great American Melodrama and Vaudeville in Oceano, CA!  Singin’ and dancin’ baby!

1.13.13 – I received my SAG eligibility for my work on the new web series Breaking Fat!

I’m currently developing a new web series with Special Effects Makeup Artists Dan Diana and Chris Mills.  Like epic space rock?  Yeah… me too.

My good friend and super talented special effects makeup artist Dan Diana has recently life-casted my figure to build a working necromorph suit for a Dead Space short!

Fourth Place $4,000
David E. Albright and Paul R. Brockman Memorial Award
Dene’e Benton
Pittsburgh Chapter

Fifth Place $2,000 
Lora Shiner Wong Memorial Award
Nyla Noreen Watson
Ohio River Valley Chapter

Sixth Place $2,000
Anne Martorelli Memorial Award
Chloe Jenna Dolandis
Florida East Coast Chapter

Seventh Place $1,500
Carole and Michael Bernstein Award
Ashley Jini Park  
Mid-Michigan Chapter

Eighth Place $1,500 
Dorothy Nicholson Stabell Award
Jimmy Thomas Mavrikes
Washington, DC Chapter

Nineth Place $1,000
Mrs. Ruth Ann Ramsay Memorial Award
Brittany Elise Dye
Central Illinois Chapter